Where have we been?

May 3, 2010 at 8:59 pm 1 comment

I know it’s been a while since Beale and I have posted on our progress. The time just seems to fly! I have been studying for the CSET, which is the test that tells California that I know enough subject matter to teach elementary school. I don’t want to teach regular ed elementary, but elementary special education requires the same test. To give you an idea of the types of things I need to know, I present this clip:

Still… I’m studying my booty off, because it’s a pass/fail test and I need to pass all three sections the first time (or pay to take them again).

I am also working on putting together my application to California State University: Sacramento’s teacher credentialing program. I hope to start taking classes toward my credential next spring. I have to wait until then because the deadlines were all pushed back this year to cut down enrollment (because of the budget. Yay California.).

Beale helps me study by lying under a chair.

I am ready to be in my own classroom. Every time I read something about children with disabilities or hear about a new way technology is helping children in the classroom, I ache for my own kids, my own classroom to try new, exciting, helpful things in. I am ready. Excited. Itching for the chance to change something. Do something. Teach SOMETHING. And next spring, I can start a two-year program to do just that. So, in three years I might be in my own classroom. Until then…

I’ve also been gearing up to become a Court Appointed Special Advocate in Sacramento. I’ll eventually be assigned one child who is a part of the foster care system. As that child’s CASA, I will get to know the child, her life, her people and I will present my recommendations for her home placement, educational plan (IEP) and whatever else comes up to a judge. You can learn more about what a CASA does at sacramentocasa.org.

While working on all of this professional type stuff, I’ve also been getting ready for my little sister‘s graduation! I have decided not to make the trek to Kansas to see her drunkenly stumble down “the hill,” and instead to send her a kick-ass graduation present and bring her to Sacramento later in the summer. I want to show my life to my little sis.

P.s. She’s graduating in marketing and psychology and needs an awesome job. Do you know of one that’s available? E-mail, comment or call me!

OK, my battery is about to die. so take this post as an apology for our absence and a promise to do better.

Love from Sacramento,

Becka and Beale

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

50 pounds! (a draft of our puppy report) While you wait…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jacklyncremer  |  May 31, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    sorry i just read this! sacramento here i come! im free july basically all of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Help Beale become a helper dog


Look Good on Paper

What we’re up to

How old is Beale?

wordpress hit counter

I support…

and…

and…

and…

Help public schools! Give to a classroom in need - Go - DonorsChoose.org

The Beale Cam

Feeds


